Failed Files: Crunchy Muesli Cookies

I felt like eating some crunchy cookies the other day so I dug out my women’s weekly cookies recipe book and searched for a tasty looking cookie to make. This crunchy muesli cookie looked tasty on the book. Looked tasty on the book…. It looked a lot whiter on the book…

Anyway this cookie wasn’t that much of a failure. In fact, it had a lovely honey and cinnamon taste to it. But I was expecting something crispy. This wasn’t crispy at all. More of a soft and chewy type of cookie which I don’t like at all :(

I’m not sure if it was because of me substituting honey for golden syrup that resulted in the darkish colour (I thought the dark colour was due to the cinnamon powder but then I added the same amount stated in the recipe!) or because I omitted the dried fruits. Or because I changed the almond silvers to chopped almond. Or I added some chopped chocolate. Or because I cut down on the amount of sugar.

The batter was rather choppy (?) /flaky and wet. So it was rather difficult to roll them into a ball. And I didn’t press the cookie flat after placing on the tray because I don’t want the whole cookie to 碎尸万段 (break into a million pieces). So maybe that’s why the cookie wasn’t crispy.

I think the main reason was because of the lower sugar content. But anyway even after cutting the amount of sugar by slightly more than half, the cookie was still decently sweet (a little on the sweet side) so I can’t imagine how diabetic it would have taste with the original amount of sugar.

 

Recipe: Adapted from Australian Women’s Weekly Cupcakes & Cookies

  • 90g rolled oats
  • 150g plain flour
  • 100g caster sugar
  • 2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 50g chopped almonds
  • 20g chopped chocolate
  • 125g butter
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 1/2 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda
  • 1 tablespoon boiling water

1. Preheat oven to 150 degrees celsius. Line oven tray with baking paper.

2. Combine oats, flour, sugar, cinnamon, nuts, and chocolate in large bowl.

3. Melt butter with honey in small saucepan over low heat. Add soda and boiling water.

4. Stir the warm butter mixture into dry ingredients.

5. Roll level tablespoons of mixture into balls, place on tray 5 cm apart and flatten with hand.

6. Bake for around 20 minutes and cool cookies on tray.

Leave a Reply

