Failed Files: Strawberry Chiffon Cake

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAfter a long break from chiffon cakes, I’m back to baking them! I tried out this strawberry chiffon recipe from Nasi Lemak Lover because the cake looked so pretty and delicious on her blog. However, mine was a failed file because

1. I was unable to achieve that pinkish hue. The colour of my cake was a strange alienish grey. I thought that was kind of appetising but my mother thought otherwise.

2. There was only the slightest hint of strawberry. I’m not sure if it’s the type of strawberries I used (I used korean strawberries) but the effect of strawberry on the cake was minimum. It still had a nice flavour just that nobody could probably guess that was a strawberry cake if I did not place a few strawberries next to it.

3. The cake sank a little after I took it out of the oven. Time to invest on a proper chiffon cake tin :(OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

However, despite all these little failures, the overall texture of the cake was good. It’s the best out of all the chiffons I tried so far. Really fluffy and fluffy ^^ Also, the cake wasn’t too sweet and makes a very pleasant afternoon snack/breakfast. Actually, all in all, this is a good cake (because the caved in portion can be ignored when inverted LOL) just that it doesn’t look as pretty and doesn’t taste overwhelmingly strawberry.

Recipehttp://nasilemaklover.blogspot.sg/2014/07/strawberry-chiffon-cake.html

2 thoughts on “Failed Files: Strawberry Chiffon Cake

Leave a Reply

