Failed Files: White Pepper Pork Ribs Soup

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I realised that I have been starting my sentences with “so” for almost all my posts. It’s not very creative so I’m going to use a new word to start this post (actually I have already started this post but just pretend that it starts after this)

THEREFORE,

“Therefore” sounds pretty bad haha but I can’t think of another way to start a post. Studying is sucking up all my creative juices haha. Anyway, my sister and I drank some white pepper pig’s stomach soup the other day and it was very good. My sister liked it a lot so I decided to replicate it at home for her.

I naively went to google for some recipes and to my horror, it takes a lot of effort to clean a pig’s stomach properly. I thought only pig’s intestines were hard to clean haha. I also read that those cleaned pig’s stomach sold in supermarkets or markets are actually chemically cleaned so it’s best not to buy them. Therefore, being lazy and concerned about my health, I decided to omit pig’s stomach completely LOL and replace them with pork’s ribs.

The soup was actually quite ok – peppery hot and comforting butttt something was missing. There wasn’t any “depth” to the soup and the only savoury taste came from the added salt which felt quite “on the surface”. My sister, claiming to be a soup expert, pointed out that I should have used more ribs (but ribs are expensive!) or pork bones.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’m definitely going to try this white pepper soup again next time, with pork bones and … chemically-cleaned pig’s stomach haha. The soup’s going to be superb If I can get the “depth” part right the next time!

Recipe:

  • around 200g pork ribs (have to add more, and maybe throw in a couple of bones)
  • 2 tablespoons whole white pepper
  • 1 bulb of garlic
  • a small piece of ginger (around 1/3 of a thumb)
  • around 5 bowls of water

1. Blanch the pork ribs in boiling water until the water turns cloudy and dirty. Remove and rinse the pork ribs. Set aside.

2. Roast the white pepper in a frying pan until it becomes fragrant or until they pop.

3. Peel and slice the ginger. Wash the garlic cloves. Do not remove their skin.

4. In a pot (preferably a claypot or stainless steel one), add all the ingredients listed above and bring to a boil on high heat. Once boiled, simmer on the lowest heat for around an hour (or even more). If the pot seems to be drying up, add hot water a little at a time.

5. Season with salt and serve.

 Serves 4

Leave a Reply

