Pesto Penne

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

First week of school just zoomed pass and I’m feeling quite busy already! Lots of readings to read and lecturers’ accent to get used to haha! I quite like the modules I’m taking this semester, especially Environmental Economics. It is soooo interesting! (Even though there’s a stack of readings and the whole module isn’t organised like the other modules). Okay I’m trying hard to make this relevant to the pesto penne… SO! I have had a fairly busy week and this simple pesto meal really made things less complicated (I’m having some expression issues but you get the drift hahaha)!

I never handled basil before and I wasn’t looking forward to eating my end product the moment I tore open the basil packaging. The smell is so overpowering! It smells like medicated oil! But the pine nuts balanced out the strong basil smell and the pesto was quite enjoyable!

This is my first time eating pesto with pasta and yeah.. not bad haha! I may order a pesto pasta when I dine out in the future~

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Recipe: (from Women’s Weekly cooking in 10, 20, 30 minutes)

  • 2 tablespoons pine nuts
  • 2 cups coarsely chopped fresh basil
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1/3 cup (80ml) olive oil
  • 1/4 cup (20g) finely grated parmesan cheese (I used white cheddar)
  • Cooked pasta

1. Roast nuts in small frying pan until browned lightly.

2. Blend or process nuts, basil, and peeled garlic until smooth. With motor operating, add oil in a thin steady stream; process until mixture is combined. Alternatively, add the oil a little by a little, blending well after each addition.

3. Place pesto in a medium bowl, stir in cheese and season to taste. Add in pasta and toss. Serve.

Serves 4

3 thoughts on “Pesto Penne

  1. Delish..
    I warmly invite you to Join the new group on Facebook that I’ve just created “Sharing food with Shivaay Delights“. Please search that group title on Facebook and everyone come SHARE your amazing VEGETARIAN RECIPES & SWEET TREATS with us all…

Leave a Reply

