Fudgy Brownies

Brownies

I don’t know why but I can never get brownies right. My first attempt at non-premix brownies many many years ago was a complete disaster. It’s way way way too bitter and no amount of icing sugar could save it. My second attempt wasn’t that fantastic either. Determined to perfect my brownies skill, I have decided to make more brownies and this is the first of the many brownies posts to come haha.

My biggest problem with brownies is that I almost always overcook them. This batch came out just slightly overcooked (but otherwise everything is fine) because I was playing with my phone and didn’t bothered to check on them heehee. It is very difficult for me to gauge when the brownies are done because there’s always this bobbling mess of oil on top and it seems that the mixture hasn’t solidify yet. Confusing and scary!

Anyway, I don’t really like fudgy brownies. I’ll try a more cake-like brownie recipe next time!Brownies

Recipe: (original recipe – Hazelnut Brownies from Australian Women’s Weekly: Cafe Favourites)

  • 125g butter
  • 200g dark eating chocolate
  • 110g (1/2 cup) caster sugar
  • 2 eggs, beaten lightly
  • 185g (1+1/4 cup) plain flour
  • 70g (1/2 cup) roasted hazelnuts, chopped coarsely (I used walnuts)
  • 190g (1 cup) white chocolate chips (omitted)

1. Preheat oven to 160 degrees Celsius. Line baking pan with baking paper.

2. Melt butter and chocolate in saucepan over low heat. Stir n sugar, cook while stirring for 5 minutes. Cool for 10 minutes.

3. Stir in egg and sifted flour then nuts and chocolate chips. Spread mixture into pan. Bake for about 30 minutes (I recommend to bake for a shorter time)

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

