Cream of Pumpkin

Cream of Pumpkin

So I have a bottle of leftover thickened cream and I don’t know what else (other than soups) I can use it for. Pumpkin is a  favourite of my mother and so pumpkin it shall be!

I feel that there was too much cream – I recommend cutting down on the cream. Other than that, this recipe’s good and adding some chili will sure spice things up a bit!

Recipe: (from BBC Good Food)

  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 small onions, finely chopped
  • 1kg pumpkin, peeled, deseeded, and chopped into chunks
  • 700ml vegetable stock or chicken stock (I used 400ml of chicken stock and made up for the rest with water)
  • 140ml double cream (I used thickened cream)

1. Heat oil in a large saucepan and gently cook the onions until soft but not coloured.

2. Add in the pumpkins and cook for 8-10 minutes till slightly softened. Stir occasionally.

3. Pour the stock into the pan and bring to a boil. Afterwards, simmer for around 10 minutes or until the pumpkins are very soft.

4. Add in the cream and bring back to boil.

5. Blend with hand blender. Taste and season.

Makes around 8 portions

Leave a Reply

