Lemon Tart

Lemon Tart

The Great Singapore Sales is here and that means tins and pans are on sales! I bought a set of 4 12 cm small tart tins at 30% discount (SO HAPPY AND EXCITED ^^) and to celebrate this good buy, I decided to make some tarts! Lemon tart it shall be!

The crust for this tart tastes sooo good – it has some depth to its slight sweetness and I think it’s due to the ground almonds. However, I think I added too much liquid so the dough was a little bit soft. Also, as you can see from the pictures, the dough shrank quite some bit from the sides. I’m not very sure why but I think I’ll refrigerate it for a while more next time.

Now onto the lemon curd. This is my first time making and tasting lemon curd and I must say it tastes quite good. However, mine was a tad too tart. I think it has to do with the ripeness of the lemon. I don’t know if adding more sugar will change the texture of the curd but I guess a generous dusting of icing sugar before serving should be able to balance out the tartness.

Lemon Tart

Recipe: (from Australian Women’s Weekly Delicious Dessert) 

  • 185g (1&1/4 cup) plain flour
  • 55g (1/3 cup) icing sugar
  • 30g (1/4 cup) ground almonds
  • 125g cold butter, chopped
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 2 tablespoons iced water

For lemon filling

  • 3 teaspoons finely grated lemon rind
  • 80ml (1/3 cup) lemon juice (about 3 lemons)
  • 3 eggs
  • 110g (1/2 cup) caster sugar
  • 160ml (2/3 cup) pouring cream [I used thickened cream]

1. Mix flour, icing sugar, and ground almonds in a bowl. Rub in butter until crumbly. Knead dough on floured surface until smooth, wrap in plastic and refrigerate for 30 minutes.

2. Roll out pastry until large enough to line 24cm round loose-based flan tin (I divided into four portions and used 4 round 12cm tart tins instead). Lift pastry into tin, pres into side, and trim edge. Cover, refrigerate for 30 minutes.

3. Meanwhile, preheat oven to 200 degrees Celsius.

4. Place tin on oven tray, line pastry case with baking paper and fill with dried beans or rice. Bake for 15 minutes. Remove paper and beans, and bake about 10 mintues or browned slightly.

5. Meanwhile, whisk ingredients for lemon filling in a bowl, let stand for 5 minutes.

6. Reduce oven temperature to 180 degrees Celsius.

7. Pour lemon filling into pastry case; bake about 30 minutes or until filling has set slightly(slightly firm on the outside and still wobbly in the middle), cool. Refrigerate until cold.

Leave a Reply

