Japanese Strawberry Shortcake

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I came across the recipe for Japanese Strawberry Shortcake while surfing the net one day. Having always like Japanese style strawberry shortcake (especially the ones from Four Leaves), I decided to try my hand at it.

It turned out not too bad – the cream was decent and the cake was just slightly dry (because I left it in the oven for too long heh heh). However, I was really fed up with whipping the cream. I don’t think I will want to make my own whipped cream frosting anymore, or at least not in the near future, because of all my previous unpleasant experience.

1) The first time I tried, I over beat the cream and it became curd with water. It’s really difficult to determine the correct state because the whipped cream will look too soft still. I tried again and was more cautious to not over whip it but the process of washing off the oily cream residue on my whisk and bowl really added on to the frustratio. Even so, I found it really difficult to frost my cake with the whipped cream because it was too soft and melted too readily.

2) So subsequently, I learnt about stabilised whipped cream from this Japanese shortcake recipe. It was like the answer to all my whipped cream woes. I was so happy and excited to try it out! As I’m not a big fan of gelatin, I googled and found out that I can replace it with agar powder. I first substituted gelatin and agar powder one for one. Too much agar powder. Then I tried adding 1/4 teaspoon of agar powder for 1 teaspoon of gelatin. The mixture seemed too watery and I added more agar powder. Little did I know that the mixture will eventually thicken while heated up. Eventually, I figured out around 1/8 teaspoon of agar powder will be a good substitute for 1 teaspoon of gelatin (with 4 teaspoons of cold water) and it will be best to heat it up using the microwave oven.

After one failed batch of over whipped cream again, I eventually got a bowl of decent stabilised whipped cream. Nonetheless, it wasn’t what I expected. Though slightly ‘stiffer’, it was still rather runny in my opinion – a far cry from the whipped cream from bakeries. Maybe it was the use of agar powder instead of gelatin.

3) Finally, throughout all my whipped cream experiences, the recipe ALWAYS yield far less cream than needed. (That’s why I didn’t had enough to properly frost this entire cake). URGH WHY. AM I NOT WHIPPING THE CREAM ENOUGH OR SOMETHING?!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I know there are plenty of tips to make the perfect whipped cream frosting out there. But I am too jaded to try.

Recipe from: La Fuji Mama 

* To prevent the strawberries from oozing water/bleeding, do not wash the strawberries. Instead, use a moist paper towel to wipe the surface and dry with paper towels. Cut the strawberries into desired states and pat dry with paper towels. Place it on a tray/container etc. lined with paper towels, inside the fridge until ready to use. I thought the strawberries will turn out dry and dehydrated but nope, they were still fairly juicy.

 

Leave a Reply

