Failed Files: Cinnamon Danish Swirls

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA My last batch of croissant dough! I never had a good impression of cinnamon – I once ate a whole spoonful of cinnamon powder because I thought the red powder looks appetising. Boy, was I wrong. That awful overdose of cinnamon powder left me traumatised for years. But since there was so much croissant dough and I didn’t want to make the same croissants/pain au chocolats, I decided to make cinnamon danish swirls like http://www.topwithcinnamon.com/2013/01/cinnamon-raisin-danish-swirls.html did. I skipped the raisins because I dislike raisins. OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA My poor impression of cinnamon powder changed immediately when I popped these swirls into the oven. The smell of the cinnamon sugar was soooooooooo lovely! The “pastry” itself was even lovelier! Cinnamon, sugar, and yeast does make a good combination! It’ll be perfect if the dough was pastry-like. I’ll probably try one of those cinnamon bread recipes another time. Oh and I used 1/4 cup of sugar (instead of 1/3 cup) with 1 tablespoon of cinnamon powder. The cinnamon wasn’t overpowering nor was the mixture too sweet.

Leave a Reply

