Failed Files: Croissant

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It was Mothers’ Day yesterday. I baked croissants for my Mother since she likes them a lot and I have plenty of free time now. It was a tedious process! One full day of making the dough + a morning of shaping it and then finally baking them. But the recipe that I followed gives 24 croissants so there’s plenty of leftover dough for other things like pain au chocolat.

I followed the recipe from http://www.topwithcinnamon.com/2012/12/how-to-make-croissants.html. It’s very clear and easy to follow as the steps are accompanied with gifs. However, I think that it will be better to just smash up the butter into a block instead of grating it first.

Anyway, this is my first try at croissants and I must say the results were great (though it’s still a failed file). The shape looked great (to me heehee), the taste was superb but the crust was VERY VERY hard and crispy. I’m not very sure why.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Also, I think I didn’t fold the dough properly and my butter block wasn’t good enough. Therefore, the insides weren’t flaky/layered. It was as soft as a pillow and like a chewy bread. That’s still nice but it’s not like a proper croissant.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The ones with sesame seeds had a more three-dimensional taste (it’s a weird description I know haha) but they look like there’s plenty of flies on them.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

All in all, I had a really fun time making the croissants. I think I’ll probably try out another recipe and see if I can get rid of the hard crust. I’m planning to make other stuff out of my leftover dough too. Can’t wait for it!

*The photos weren’t edited so that’s the real colour of the croissants

2 thoughts on “Failed Files: Croissant

Leave a Reply

