Chocolate Banana Muffins

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I was battling sore throat for the past week and I’ve never had a sore throat this terrible. Just when I thought that I had fully recovered and bought all the ingredients for these muffins, it came back. Urgh, though luckily it isn’t as bad this time round, I’m staying off chocolate so that I can really really recover.  I didn’t want to let those ripe bananas rot so I went ahead with baking it.

This recipe is from Nigella’s website and has many positive reviews! But many commented that despite being moist, it somehow lacks flavour so they recommended adding cinnamon/vanilla essence/chocolate chips. I wanted to add a teaspoon of vanilla essence but there’s only half a teaspoon left at house. Also, the cinnamon I have at home expired LOL so I ended up adding chocolate chips and half a teaspoon of vanilla essence.

I don’t know how the muffins turned out exactly. It smells great and banana-ny and those who tried it said it’s moist and not too sweet. I really want to pop one in my mouth and judge for myself whether this is a recipe worth keeping. But oh wells, just have to bake it again next time.

 

* I heard from my grandma that there’s a bitter/metallic taste in these muffins. Googled a little and turned out that this recipe called for too much baking soda. I’ll only need 1/4 tsp of soda for 1 cup flour. But I’m not sure if the muffins will rise if I cut down on the baking soda hmm..

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Recipe: From Nigella 

  • 3 very ripe or overripe bananas (roughly 450g)
  • 125 ml vegetable oil
  • 2 large eggs
  • 100g soft light brown sugar
  • 225g plain flour
  • 3 tablespoons cocoa powder
  • 1 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla essence
  • chocolate chips

1. Preheat oven to 200 degrees Celsius and line muffin tin.

2. Mash the banana. Add the oil, (vanilla essence), eggs, and sugar in order, mix well after each addition.

3. Mix the sifted flour, cocoa powder and baking soda together and add this mixture, beating gently, to the banana mixture. (I followed her method but I think it is better to make a well in the dry ingredients and slowly add the wet ingredients. It’ll be easier to bring the ingredients together without over mixing)

4. Add in any nuts/chocolate chips and give a quick stir to mix well. Do not over mix.

5. Fill each cup till 3/4 full and bake for 15-2o minutes. Cool for 5 minutes in the tin before removing to a wire rack.

Makes 12 muffins

One thought on “Chocolate Banana Muffins

Leave a Reply

