Failed Files: Chinese Almond Cookies

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Chinese New Years’s coming! So I decided to make some cny snacks andddd almond cookies seems easy to make.

It is easy to make. But it’s still a failure XD The texture is great, slightly crunchy on the outside and slightly melty inside. Not too much of both and it’s a great balance. But it was too salty LOL. Kind of like those savoury chinese pastries. I don’t like those savoury pastries but my parents like them so they think these cookies are not that bad. Too me they are just pure yucky haha.

Why it was too salty:

1) I added too much salt. Somehow I always add too much salt into sweet stuff (like the salty nutella buttercream frosting haha). I thought my pinch of salt was too small a pinch so I generously added another pinch….

2) I added too little sugar. The author of the blog where I’ve got the recipe from commented that she might try 75g of sugar next time as she prefers a less-sweet cookie. I don’t really like sweet stuff. So 80g of sugar it shall be I thought. Nope, it turns out that 100g will be just right for someone without a sweet tooth.

But all in all it’s a great recipe! Easy to make and good texture. Just that I’ll have to be more careful with the salt and sugar next time round haha.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Recipe: Bread Et Butter

  • 100g ground almonds
  • 150g plain flour
  • 100g caster sugar
  • 3/4tsp baking powder
  • 3/4tsp baking soda
  • pinch salt
  • 100ml corn oil, or other flavourless oil (I used around 150 ml – the dough will be quite oily but the cooked cookie will not be)
  • 1 egg yolk, beaten

1. Sieve the flour, caster sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt into a bowl 3 times.
2. Add the ground almonds to the flour/sugar mixture.
3. Slowly add in the oil and mix. Mix until a cohesive dough forms (I used my hands). You may need more or less oil  – the aim is to reach a dough which is just able to hold it’s shape (and doesn’t crumble) when you attempt to roll it into a ball.
4. Heat the oven to 180′C.
5. Roll the dough into ~2.5cm balls, and place on a baking tray lined with baking paper.
6. Using a pastry brush, lightly glaze the tops of the cookie balls with the beaten egg yolk.
7. Bake for 15-20 minutes, or till golden.

Happy Chinese New Year! :)

Leave a Reply

