Failed Files: Steamed Green Tea Buns

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Long time no see, friends! *shouts out to the few readers here* So my final exams has finally ended and it’s time to cook again! I wanted to make some chocolate cream puffs but my Mother said she wants to eat something steamed. So I consulted my friend google again and decided to make some steamed green tea buns!

I came across quite a lot of different recipes for steamed buns (mantou) but decided to mix and match to come out with my own recipe. And that’s why this is a failed file haha.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe texture was great – chewy and bouncy. But the taste was ultimate bleah. When I smell the bun I could smell a slight hint of matcha but when I eat it, the smell of yeast totally covered any matcha-ness in the bun. Also, I added too much salt so it’s…. savoury hahahaha. But the main problem still lies with the yeasty smell. I did a little research and discovered that it could be the use of too much yeast or sudden rising or (some other complicated bread making jargon).

Anyways I came across another recipe (http://happyhomebaking.blogspot.sg/2010/02/fun-with-steamed-buns.html) and those who commented do not seem to have a problem with the yeasty smell. I guess I will follow this recipe next time!

Yeasty smell aside, bun making is soooo fun! The dough is so elastic and bouncy to knead! I think I can knead on a piece of dough all day haha. It’s quite stress-relieving too! Definitely going to make steamed buns again! Fun and easy to make!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA 

Recipe:

  • 150ml water
  • 250g plain flour / Hong kong flour
  • 40g castor sugar (add more maybe?)
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp green tea powder (add more maybe?)
  • 6g yeast (add less!)
  • 1/2 tsp salt (add less or don’t add!)

1. Sift the dry ingredients into a mixing bowl and mix well.

2. Add in the water slowly and mix by hand till a dough is formed

3. On a lightly floured surface, knead the dough till smooth. Set it aside to poof for 30 minutes. Cover the dough with a damp cloth.

4. Divide the dough into equal portions and shape it. Set aside for another 30 minutes.

5. Steam on high heat for around 8 minutes.

Makes around 10 fist-sized buns.

2 thoughts on “Failed Files: Steamed Green Tea Buns

Leave a Reply

