Chinese Braised Peanuts

braised peanuts

I love those peanut appetisers they serve in chinese restaurants. Not those fried peanuts but those kind that I’ve always thought are steamed. It was not till I went to google for recipes then I realise that they are actually boiled. Anyway, I prefer those made by the restaurants themselves to those that’s like from cans. I don’t really like those canned braised peanuts ’cause they’re too sweet. So I attempted to recreate my own restaurant peanuts and yay it was not too shabby haha!

braised peanuts

But they were still too soy sauce-y for my liking. Maybe I’ll omit the dark soy sauce next time haha. Oh and I simmered my peanuts in a clay pot.

Recipe: (from http://beaulotus.blogspot.sg/2009/12/braised-peanuts.html)

  • 250g big peanuts (shells removed) / raw peanuts (#1)
  • Water
  • 1 star anise (#3)
  • 1 cinnamon stick (#4)
  • 1/4 tsp five-spice powder (#2)
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 1 tbsp dark soy sauce
  • 1 tsp light soy sauce

20130904_103939

1. Soak the peanuts overnight (or in hot water for at least 2 hours)

2. Boil enough water in a pot with the star anise and cinnamon stick.

3. Add in the peanuts. If the water do not cover the peanuts completely, top up with enough hot water and bring it back to a boil.

4. Add in all the other seasonings (salt, sugar, five-spice powder, soy sauces) and bring to a boil. Taste the “sauce” and adjust seasoning according to personal preferences.

5. Lower the heat and simmer for 3-4 hours or till the peanuts soften.

2 thoughts on “Chinese Braised Peanuts

Leave a Reply

