Chrysanthemum Konnyaku Jelly

Konnyaku jelly

While checking the blog stats daily, I’ve noticed that many people (okay maybe 10? hee) searched for instructions to make konnyaku jelly and clicked on my previous konnyaku jelly post. They must have felt cheated or that they’ve wasted their time ’cause there wasn’t any recipe to follow except to “follow the instructions on the packet of jelly powder”. So, to help whatever people out there who might be clueless about making konnyaku jelly and potentially search google for explicit instructions, I have decided to make a detailed post!

I think those pros might roll their eyes but as a noob cook, whatever source of explicit information/guide is really useful; even if noob cook is holding onto the packet of powder with instructions behind it. We need assurance! That will in turn give us confidence to cook! LOL I don’t really know what I’ve just crapped out. 

Anyway, this time round, I decided to make chrysanthemum-flavoured konnyaku jelly! Konnyaku jelly is quite a versatile thing. You can add whatever flavouring/coluring/pieces of food inside since it’s basically tasteless. You can make it sweet or savoury.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

1. Buy a packet of konnyaku jelly powder. They are normally sold in the baking section together with other normal jelly powders. If you’re living in western countries, chances are that you can find them in “asian supermarkets” (LOL I’ve never lived overseas so I don’t really know where you can get them outside of Singapore/Malaysia).

There are generally 2 kinds of powder. One with caster sugar already mixed in (usually in a box) and one with just the powder (usually in a sachet).The one I got is the one without sugar.

20130818_203528

2. Think of how you want the jelly to be like. Savoury or sweet? Fruits? What fruits? If you are making savoury jelly, you will probably need to add in some stock. For sweet jelly, you can choose to add in liquid or those concentrated flavouring.

For me, I decided to make chrysanthemum-flavoured ones. So I bought a can of chrysanthemum tea and had some chinese wolfberries and chrysanthemum as decoration. For my previous attempt, I made peach and orange flavoured ones so I cubed the fruits and squeezed a little orange juice out.

3. Prepare the liquids. For every 10g of powder (the entire sachet), 950ml of water needs to be added. So if you’re using concentrated flavouring, add 950ml of water into a pot. If you’re using stock/chrysanthemum tea/ribena etc, mix the liquid used with water to make up to 950 ml. The ratio of each liquid is entirely up to you. For me, I used a can of tea and added 650ml of water.

Taste the mixture to determine if sugar needs to be added. Be careful! It might taste just nice at this stage but the jelly will turn out very bland. So the taste of the liquid should taste sweeter than how you want the jelly to be.

20130818_203457

4. Heat the liquid. Pour in the powder gradually and stir till the mixture boils.

Make sure the powder is poured in gradually while stirring! I know it’s stupid but I poured all the powder in at one go before heating it. There was some problem with my gas stove so I spent like a few seconds fixing it andddddd the powder had already clumped up and “solidify”. I had a hard time breaking up the lumps and mixing everything together afterwards.

5. Add in sugar and taste. Add in flavouring/colouring. Mix well and turn off the heat.

I added in around 2 tablespoon of sugar. Normal sugar will do, no need to buy caster sugar. Just make sure they fully dissolve.

6. Add the solid food into the moulds. Any type of container will do. Pour the jelly mixture into moulds and let it cool before putting it into the fridge.

20130818_213328

So that was my very layman way of making. If that doesn’t help (honestly I don’t think it will help hahaha), here’s the instructions from the back of the powder sachet!

  • 10g konnyaku jelly powder
  • 210g caster sugar
  • 950ml water
  • 1/8 tsp citric/malic acid (optional)
  • 1/4 tsp flavouring (of your own choice)
  • 1/4 tsp food colouring (of your own choice)
  • 1 tin canned fruit

1. Mix the powder and caster sugar together. Mix well.

2. Pour the mixture into the water gradually and stir till boil then turn off flame.

3. Keep stirring for about 5 minutes, till the bubble disappear.

4. Add acid, colouring and flavouring into the solution. Stir well.

5. Put the pieces of fruits in the moulds then pour the jelly solution into the moulds for 3 times, everytime pour 1/3 of the mould.

6. Chill to se the moulded jelly solution in the fridge for 3 hours before serving.

2 thoughts on “Chrysanthemum Konnyaku Jelly

Leave a Reply

