Failed Files: Cranberry Scones

20130804_150727

Another failed file! This is my first attempt at scones and it was a total flop. So floppy I didn’t even bothered to take a nice photo of it. The scones were like bread – not flaky, not buttery, not sconey.  And I thought following a book’s fool-proof! Lesson learnt: Use common sense while baking. 

Basically, I’m not very sure what exactly went wrong. But for starters, I think I didn’t give the word “approximately” (look at recipe below) my fullest respect and attention. I just happily poured all the water in. That made my dough really really sticky and soft. They said it’s ok for the dough to be soft and sticky so I thought it was ok. But common sense should have told me that my dough was wayyyy too soft and sticky to be even properly pressed into a circular disc. Sadly, my common sense wasn’t working.

From there I desperately tried to add plain flour and it didn’t worked well. So in the process of adding more flour I probably over-handled the dough and thus it’s no longer flaky anymore.

I’m going try scones again. Following another recipe. In the meanwhile, for all the few friends out there making scones for the first time, here’s a great page on scones tips.

http://ovenhaven.wordpress.com/2012/02/09/from-the-mailbox-5-tips-on-baking-the-perfect-scones-recipe-nutella-scones/

Recipe: (Adapted from Women’s Weekly Cooking Class step-by-step)

  • 2 cups (300g) self-raising flour
  • 1 tablespoon icing sugar
  • 30g butter
  • 3/4 cups (190ml) milk
  • 90ml water, approximately
  • 1/4 cup chopped dried cranberries
  • 1 teaspoon lemon zest

1.  Preheat oven to 220◦c. Line/grease baking pan.

2. Sift flour and sugar into large bowl. Rub in butter with fingertips.

3. Add cranberries and zest. Mix well.

4. Make a well in the centre of flour mixture. Add milk and almost all the water. Use a knife to ‘cut’ the milk and water through the flour mixture, mixing to a soft, sticky dough. Knead dough on floured surface until smooth.

5. Press dough out to 2cm thickness. Using a cookie cutter, cut pieces out from the dough. Alternatively, cut the dough up into different shapes using a knife.

6. Place scones, side by side, just touching, in pan. Brush tops with a little extra milk.

7. Bake scones for about 15 minutes or until just browned and sound hollow when tapped firmly on the top with fingers. Serve with jam and cream.

6 thoughts on “Failed Files: Cranberry Scones

  1. I always put lemonade in my scones I think it makes them fail-proof =] I have a scones recipe that I recommend to everyone if you’d like to check it out. Good luck with the next scone attempt!

Leave a Reply

