Chocolate Chiffon Cake

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So, following my failed matcha chiffon, I decided to bake another chiffon. Since I wouldn’t want to eat a green tea cake for like 2 consecutive weeks, I decided to make a chocolate one. And boy, was that a good decision haha. The chiffon was a success!! Not perfect but decent enough haha. As usual, the taste is good. To me, baking recipes adapted form cookbooks are the most reliable and this is no exception. 

In making the chiffon, I lowered the temperature from 180 to 170 degrees celsius and baked it for 32 minutes. Also, I managed to pour all the batter into the tin at one go (though I still tap when the batter is in the tin). Also, I used my “small-looking” eggs as large eggs and I guess it’s about the same ’cause the cake was ok.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So, here are the reasons why this cake isn’t under failed files:

– Unlike the matcha chiffon, there wasn’t any dense kueh-like layers. From the picture above, there is a slightly darker layer on top (which is actually the bottom of the cake since I inverted it) but it only looks dense. That part is actually, to my surprise, quite like a normal chiffon.

-No cracks!

– It wasn’t dry and is rather moist too!

But I still committed some mistakes heh heh. I think I slightly over beat the egg whites. Am I supposed to observe the peaks on the whisk or the ones that I pulled out in the bowl? ‘Cause I realised that by the time those peaks pulled out in the bowl no longer fold over themselves, the peak on the whisk became stiff.

All in all, I enjoyed the process of making chiffon cakes. As long as there’s an electric whisk (those handheld ones are fine too!), baking a chiffon cake isn’t as difficult as it seems. Sure it is easy to make but I find it difficult to master. I’ll continue experimenting till I found the perfect adjustments!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Didn’t trim the cake so it doesn’t look as nice haha

Recipe: (from 好吃威风蛋糕轻松上手  by 福田  淳子)

For 17 cm tin For 20 cm tin
Large eggs yolks 3 5
Caster sugar 80g 130g
Vegetable oil 40ml 60ml
Water 60ml 100ml
Cake flour 45g 70g
Cocoa powder 30g 50g
Baking powder ½ teaspoon 2/3 teaspoon
Large egg whites 5 8
  1. Mix cake flour, cocoa powder and baking powder. Sieve mixture thrice. Preheat oven to 180◦c
  2. Add egg yolks into a metal bowl and break them up. Add in 1/3 of the caster sugar and mix well with hand whisk.
  3. Add in vegetable oil bit by bit, over a few additions. Mix after each addition. Add in water and continue to mix.
  4. Add in sieved powder mixture and mix till shiny and smooth using a hand whisk.
  5. In a separate metal bowl, beat the egg whites using an electric beater till frothy. Add in half of the remaining caster sugar. (Use clean bowls and whisks)
  6. Continue to beat the whites. Add in the rest of the sugar.
  7. Continue beating until peaks form.
  8. Add 1/3 of the egg white mixture into the egg yolk mixture and use a whisk to mix well. Fold in remaining egg whites quickly using a spatula. Do not break the air bubbles.
  9. Pour the batter into the tin from high above the tin in one go. (Do not grease the tin. Aluminium tins are recommended)
  10. Pick up the tin with both hands and knock it against the table top lightly to release the air inside.
  11. Bake for around 30minutes (for 17 cm tin) / 40 minutes (for 20 cm tin)
  12. Immediately place the cake (together with the tin) upside down on an upside down cup to cool. (Once it is somewhat cooled, place it in the fridge for about an hour)
  13. Remove the cake and trim the cake
2 thoughts on “Chocolate Chiffon Cake

Leave a Reply

