Failed Files: Matcha Chiffon Cake

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Another failed file haha. Anyway I was looking high and low for a tube pan to experiment baking chiffon cakes in but I couldn’t find one! One day I randomly googled and some site claimed that the shape of the tin doesn’t really matter – I can bake a decent chiffon with a regular round (aluminium, of course) tin. This was the first time I tried making chiffon and I guess it is not bad. The taste is out of the world honestly (maybe I like matcha that’s why. But the light aroma of the green tea and the slight tinge of egg fragrance. Sedap!) BUT the texture was terrible. 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

What went wrong:

– The cake was very dense both at the top and bottom. It almost felt like I was eating kueh. Quite gross for me.

– The rest of the fluffy cake was a little dry. My bakes are always dry help!

– I think it didn’t rise well. It rose. But not magnificent enough (for me haha)

– I was using what looks like small eggs to me and the recipe called for large eggs. I googled for the average weight of large eggs and measured the weight of the “small” eggs I’m using. Either my not-very-precise weighing scale went haywire or the eggs I used are actually large eggs. I went ahead with using those “small” eggs (the average size of eggs seen in Singapore) as if they were large eggs.

I followed the recipe to a tee but I still don’t know why my cake failed. So I googled again and stumbled upon two great posts about chiffon baking tips.

So according to these posts, I think I might have:

– Overbeaten my egg whites. The recipe said to beat until peaks form so I happily beat till they form stiff peaks. Actually, the whites only need to be beaten till it forms “medium peaks” – when the peaks slightly curls. Should not be folding over itself (soft peaks) or standing tall and proud (stiff peaks).

– Deflated my egg whites slightly while folding in. Should fold them in swiftly. Maybe I’ll try folding in with a whisk next time.

– Not pour the batter in at one go cause it didn’t flow very well and I didn’t tilt the bowl much.

– Baked at the incorrect temperature. Most likely too high a temperature. Maybe it’s time to get an oven thermometer hmm.

– Knocked the batter at the wrong time. I can’t remember but there was this article saying to knock the batter before you pour them into the tin. I’m not very sure but I’ll try this the next time.

Well all in all, the taste of the cake was fabulous so I guess I’ll be sticking to this recipe from a recipe book my ex-boss lent me. It was all in chinese and I painstakingly translated them so must make use of them!!

*Do read the blogs mentioned above if you’re like me, attempting the chiffon for the first time. There’s really alot of tips and tricks in baking a chiffon that’s not always written in the recipe. 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Recipe: (from 好吃威风蛋糕轻松上手  by 福田  淳子)

For 17 cm tin For 20 cm tin
Large eggs yolks 3 5
Caster sugar 80g 130g
Vegetable oil 50ml 80ml
Water 60ml 95ml
Cake flour 80g 130g
Matcha powder 10g 15g
Large egg whites 4 7
  1. Mix cake flour and matcha powder. Sieve mixture twice (I sieved it thrice).  Preheat oven to 180◦c
  2. Add egg yolks into a metal bowl and break them up. Add in 1/3 of the caster sugar and mix well with hand whisk.
  3. Add in vegetable oil bit by bit, over a few additions. Mix after each addition. Add in water and continue to mix.
  4. Add in sieved powder mixture and mix till shiny and smooth.
  5. In a separate metal bowl, beat the egg whites using an electric beater till frothy. Add in half of the remaining caster sugar. (Use clean bowls and whisks)
  6. Continue to beat the whites. Add in the rest of the sugar. Continue beating until peaks form (medium peaks).
  7. Add 1/3 of the egg white mixture into the egg yolk mixture and use a whisk to mix well. Fold in remaining egg whites quickly using a spatula. Do not break the air bubbles.
  8. Pour the batter into the tin from high above the tin in one go. (Do not grease the tin. Aluminium tins are recommended)
  9. Pick up the tin with both hands and knock it against the table top lightly to release the air inside.
  10. Bake for around 30minutes (for 17 cm tin) / 40 minutes (for 20 cm tin)
  11. Immediately place the cake (together with the tin) upside down on an upside down cup to cool. (Once it is somewhat cooled, place it in the fridge for about an hour)
  12. Remove the cake and trim the cake
9 thoughts on “Failed Files: Matcha Chiffon Cake

  1. Hi

    I m new in baking n love to try a matcha chiffon.
    Chanced upon your recipe n can I know if u hv been continuing to bake this recipe? If so, any tips for me please?
    Thanks in advance!

    • Hi!

      I have continued using the basic recipe that this matcha chiffon recipe’s based on but I haven’t made another matcha chiffon.

      But the recipe in this post is quite reliable! If you decide to try this recipe, I think the most important thing is to take note of the more general chiffon-making tips. The links I mentioned in this post have really great tips for baking chiffon!

      All the best!

      • Hi

        Thank u for your reply, I m so thrilled to hear from u, 👍

        With your encouragement, I shall give this recipe a go since I hv yet to find a suitable on. Is this cake soft n fluffy or more on the dense side?

        Can I ask if u find the batter v dry aft adding the matcha powder? And, the longer it sits on counter, the drier it becomes? This is what I encountered n I m still thinking of how to over come this.

        Looking forward to hear from u. 💐

  2. Hi MK

    I tried this recipe on Thursday n it turned out v well!

    Cake is soft, tender, fluffy, tall n with a beautiful green, unlike the 3 yolks n 3 whites version I tried previously.

    Thank you so much for your sharing n encouragement, MK! 🍵🌸

Leave a Reply

