Failed files: Macadamia Brownies

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I saw this recipe on The Sunday Times so I decided to copy it down and make it, since a recipe published in the article can’t go wrong. I forgot who the author was anyway. Before you get me wrong, this recipe is not a failure recipe. My brownies tasted quite good in fact. But I decided to classify it under failed files ’cause it was too dry and too bitter.

It was too dry ’cause I was shocked by the sizzling oil on the surface. I haven’t baked brownies since eons ago and yeah I thought the sizzling oil mess looked like uncooked batter. So I popped it into the oven for 2 more minutes (at a higher temperature some more. What was I thinking lol). So it was too dry ’cause I overbaked it. The skewer came out completely clean -_-

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Anddd it was too bitter because I used completely unsweetened cooking chocolate. I couldn’t find cooking chocolate with 80% cocoa solids – only those with 50% and they will make the brownies too sweet. So I guess I could have used more sugar or look elsewhere for cooking chocolate.

Oh well, I think my brownies will turn out delicious if I do it properly the next time. Wish me luck!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Recipe: (from The Sunday Times, Singapore)

  • 200g dark cooking chocolate, broken up (cooking chocolate with 80% cocoa solids)
  • 200g butter, chopped roughly
  • 3 small eggs
  • 180 g brown sugar
  • 120g plain flour, sieved
  • 150g macadamia nuts, chopped

1. Grease and line bottom of a 21cm X 31cm baking pan. Preheat oven to 180◦c (fan-forced)

2. Melt chocolate and butter, stirring continuously to prevent burning. Once melted and smooth, remove from heat. Set aside to cool.

3. Whisk egg and sugar together until light coloured and slightly fluffy. Add cooled melted chocolate mixture and stir till smooth. Gently fold in flour and nuts till well mixed.

4. Spread mixture into baking tin and bake for around 15-20 minutes. (Start checking at the 15th minute)

5. Remove pan from oven when top feels firm to touch. If skewer has wet cake mixture, pop back into the oven for another 2-3 minutes. If there is only a slight gooey texture, it is done for a gooey brownie.

6. Cool in baking tin before cutting into pieces.

Makes 18.

For a more cake like texture, use more flour. I placed the brownies in the fridge and it was more moist so I guess it is not bad after all haha.

Leave a Reply

