Cream of Broccoli

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So, my attempt to make Chef Zumbo’s macarons left a bottle of thickened cream in my fridge. I googled what I can do with it and out came many soup recipes. So I decided to make my own soup from scratch! It’s the first time I made western soup from scratch. How exciting! I loveeee broccoli so the obvious choice was to make cream of broccoli haha.

The steps were simple. I was surprised the soup was already thick after blending. I think there was no need for the cream actually! Oh and one thing, the recipe said to use unsalted butter and I used salted butter. The soup was soooooo salty though I didn’t add any additional salt.

All in all, I enjoyed the soup making process. Now that I know it is so simple to make western creamy soup from scratch, I don’t think I’m going to buy another soup can anymore.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Recipe: (from Martha Stewart)

  • 25g unsalted butter
  • 1 small or medium yellow onion, diced small
  • 1/8 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2 cups low-sodium chicken broth
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 250g broccoli, cut into florets, stems peeled and chopped
  • 1/8 cup thickened/heavy cream
  • Salt
  • Pepper

1.  In a medium pot, melt butter over medium heat. Add onion and cook, stirring occasionally, till softened. Takes around 8 minutes.

2. Add in the flour and stir until combined.

3. Whisking constantly, add broth and water. Turn to high and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer, whisking occasionally, for 10 minutes.

4. Add broccoli and bring to a simmer. Cook the broccoli till tender. Takes about 20 minutes.

5. Transfer mixture to a large bowl. In batches, fill a blender halfway with mixture and puree until smooth; to allow heat to escape, remove cap from hole in lid, cover lid with a dish towel, and hold down firmly while blending. Return soup to pot as pureed.

OR

     Remove pot from heat. Using a stick blender, puree the mixture until smooth. (Do it directly in the pot)

6. Add cream and heat over medium until warmed through. Season with salt and pepper. Thin with broth or water, if desired.

Makes 4 bowls

Leave a Reply

