Avocado Egg Salad

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There was a sale on avocados at Giant the other day. My mother and I have long heard about the benefits of avocados. Like how healthy it is and how it is loaded with good cholesterol or something like that haha. I never tasted an avocado before so to weaken the culture shock (lol) I’ll get, I decided to mash it into a salad first.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

But one thing about avocados I didn’t know was that it takes super long to ripe. It was in the fridge for a week already and still unripe. I took the ripest looking one out and made the salad anyway haha. It was rather easy to cut open an avocado but I found it difficult to take the seed off. I’ve watched online tutorials and they all said to knock the knife on the seed so that the knife is somehow stuck onto the seed and just twist it off. I did that but the seed was still there. I used my fingers in the end lol.

The salad tasted quite alright but it turned black (!!) after a few days in the fridge. Oh and I used yoghurt instead of Mayonnaise. I thought the thing will turn out sour but in fact, I wouldn’t have knew that it was yoghurt if no one told me! So this is a rather healthy salad I guess hahah.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Recipe:

  • 1 ripe avocado
  • 1 tablespoon plain yoghurt
  • 1 hard boiled egg
  • salt
  • pepper

1. Chop up the avocado into cubes or small pieces.

2. Cut the egg into cubes.

3. Throw the avocado and egg into a bowl and mash it.

4. Add the yoghurt and mix. Season with salt and pepper.

So simple hahaha.

Leave a Reply

