Chocolate Sponge Loaf

It’s always been my dream to make a sponge cake (don’t laugh) and I chanced upon this recipe posted on Happy Home Baking. It was a simple recipe and the product was small. Therefore, it is a great recipe to start with (and a great way to utilise my loaf tin). The picture above is from HHB ’cause I’m too lazy to take a photo of my cake. It looks almost the same as HHB’s anyway haha. 

The cake turns out nice but tastes abit like JDG . Maybe it’s me haha. Anyway, this is like the first chocolate item I made on my own that tastes decent. I used to make chocolate cookies but they have this unpleasant burnt chocolate smell.

Oh anyway, I titled this post chocolate sponge LOAF instead of cake because I felt that this isn’t really a sponge cake. It’s still quite dense compared to a sponge cake and according to HHB, it’s from a bread recipe book XD. And the process didn’t called for the egg whites and yolks to be separated. I’ll make a proper round chocolate sponge cake one day but this recipe is a keeper (like what HHB said). Will definitely make it again if I feel like getting some light pound cake!  (This recipe requires the flour mixture to be sifted like at least 4 times. I almost died sifting the flour with my ultra small sieve T.T)

Recipe: (Adapted from Happy Home Baking)

  • 80g cake flour
  • 20g cocoa powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • half a 1/4 teaspoon baking soda (1/8 teaspoon)
  • half a 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 3 small eggs, room temperature
  • 90g caster sugar
  • 50ml vegetable oil
  • 50g plain natural yoghurt, room temperature
  • 1+ 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1. Line a 18cmx9cmx7cm loaf pan with paper (parchment, baking etc). Preheat the oven to 170ºc (fan-forced)

2. Sift cake flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, baking soda and salt together and at least 3 times. Set aside.

3. Whisk eggs and sugar with an electric mixer on high speed until the batter triples in volume, thickens and leaves a ribbon-like trail when the paddle is lifted up (ribbon stage). Takes about 5 minutes. Turn to low speed and whisk for another 1 minute (this is to stabilise the air bubbles in the batter)

4. Sift the flour mixture into the batter in 3 separate additions. Gently fold in the flour with a spatula after each addition. Take care not to deflate the batter.

5. Remove some batter into another mixing bowl. Add in oil, yoghurt and vanilla extract. Mix with spatula until well blended. Add this mixture into the egg and sugar batter. Fold gently with spatula until well blended.

6. Pour finished batter to the prepared loaf pan. Tap the pan on work surface a few times to release any trapped air bubbles in the batter. Bake in preheated oven at for 25-30 minutes or until a skewer inserted in the centre comes out fairly clean (do not over bake). Unmold and transfer to wire rack to cool completely.

I converted the measurements of some of the ingredients to teaspoons because the original recipe on HHB called for like 1g of baking soda etc. My lousy kitchen scale has a precision of 25g. Yeah so I estimated 90g of caster sugar too T.T 

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Sponge Loaf

Leave a Reply

