Failed Files: Tau Suan

Image

Today’s Fathers’ Day so I asked my father what he would like to eat. “Tau Suan” was his answer. So I went online to search for recipes and everyone was like “oh it’s easy” etc. on their blogs. Or at least that’s how I feel haha. So I just printed one of the recipes and started cooking. And…. I failed haha. Okay not saying the recipe is bad but maybe the recipe’s not for me haha. 

My Tau Suan looks like baby food (or poop). The ‘soup’ was like yellow and the beans were very mashed. My Mother was like saying it’s like bean paste haha. Here’s how a real Tau Suan should look like:

(photo credits: http://hungryisland.wordpress.com/2012/06/23/cola-cold-hot-dessert/)

And then there’s mine (look at first photo haha). I think I either steamed the beans for a little too long or should thicken the soup before adding in the beans. Not very sure but guess I’m going to make Tau Suan again! I will conquer Tau Suan one day! Muahahaha.

Image

Recipe: (from http://www.noobcook.com/tau-suan-split-green-bean-soup/)

  • 150g split green (mung) beans
  • 2 pandan leaves, washed and tied to a knot
  • 50g rock sugar (I used slightly less than that)
  • 500 ml water
  • 1 “you tiao”/”you char kway”
  • Thickner: 40g sweet potato flour/water chestnut flour mixed with 125ml water

1. Soak the beans in water for 1 hour, drained and rinse again with water. Drain again.

Image

2. Steam the beans for about 30 minutes, or until they are soft.

3. Add water, pandan leaves and sugar in a pot. Bring to boil and reduce heat. Add in the steamed beans

4. Stir the thickener again before using to ensure that there are no lumps in it. Stir in the thickener slowly until mixture thickens (do not need to add in all)

Image

5. Serve with you tiao.

Makes around 4 bowls.

* I am not sure if we can use potato stach (太白粉) instead of sweet potato flour since both serves as thickener. Now I have one big bag of sweet potato flour and no use for it haha.

Image

Leave a Reply

