Chinese Steamed Egg Cake (Ji Dan Gao)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

One day I asked my mother what she wants to eat and she said ji dan gao (not scolding me haha) so I decided to look up for some recipes online. I don’t really crave for ji dan gao but after seeing all those posts about JDG, I was so hyped up to make it LOL. I was looking forward to buy a can of soft drink to make it XD and looking forward to Sunday.

Sunday finally came and I got to make JDG! With a new handheld mixer (bought at half price from courts! Now I can just bring it to bff’s house to mix some eggs haha it’s so portable! And it’s the one I used at work >< ), I started on my JDG.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There was too much batter so I used an extra container

It was quite a success! I liked it though it smells quite.. eggy lol. Like this fishy egg smell. But it taste fine. My mother commented that it’s not as solid as those sold outside. I don’t really get what she meant ’cause I don’t remember eating JDG actually heh heh. Oh and it was quite dry! :( I’m not sure why was it so dry, maybe I steamed it for too long? Lol anybody knows why?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Anyway JDG is a much healthier choice than oven baked cakes ’cause no oil or butter was used! Shall try it again someday with some pandan juice!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERARecipe: (From Little Teochew)

  • 220g eggs excluding weight of shells (about 4 large eggs)
  • 210g caster sugar
  • 230g cake flour or top flour
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 6 tbsp cream soda or 7-Up or Sprite

1. Sift the flour 2/3 times. (I sifted 3 times with my small ~6cm sieve whew)

2. Whisk the eggs till frothy, then start adding sugar a little by little, to ensure it is well-incorporated. Add vanilla extract and continue beating until the batter becomes very pale, thick and creamy. Meanwhile, prepare steaming equipment. Do make sure it is large enough to fit the cake tin and has ample space for the batter to rise and the steam to circulate.

2. Fold in the flour in thirds, alternating with the soda, and ending with flour. Fold till there’s no more streaks of flour. (I was afraid to ‘over fold’ so I didn’t like really made sure there’s no more flour. I stopped once I ‘turned’ the spatula 3 times and didn’t see any flour. Turns out there’s still some unmixed flour so there were like some white specks in my cooked cake lol)

3. Pour the mixture into either a bamboo steamer lined with greaseproof paper or a 7-inch lined baking tin. Steam it on high for 30 minutes. (I steamed mine for 30 minutes at it was a bit dry. I’ll start checking 20 minutes into steaming next time haha)

4. Place the cake on a rack and allow to cool before slicing.

6 thoughts on “Chinese Steamed Egg Cake (Ji Dan Gao)

  1. Hi, its too dry because you used a lot of flour. I use a similar recipe and only used 140g of flour. Texture will be smoother.

    Hope that helps. :)

Leave a Reply

