Banana Walnut Muffin

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’ve always like muffins more than cupcakes. And I like bananas. And so I like banana muffins LOL. Decided to make some banana walnut muffins using a tried and tested recipe. It’s been ages since I’ve made it so I was pleasantly surprised when I found out the recipe calls for self-raising flour! Use up all the self-raising flour in the fridge!\

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The muffins were a great success! But because I didn’t fill my sugar measuring cups to the brim (out of habit!), it wasn’t very sweet so people with a sweet tooth or are used to strong flavours might not like it. My mother liked it so well that’s good hahaha.

Recipe: (Adapted from http://aww.ninemsn.com/food/cookingtips/780722/banana-walnut-muffins)

  • 300g (2 cups) self-raising flour
  • 150g (1 cup) plain flour
  • 1 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda
  • 1 cup brown sugar, firmly packed (I didn’t pack my brown sugar and there was like a 0.5cm gap between the sugar and the top of the measuring cup)
  • 2 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 375ml (1½ cups) milk
  • 190ml (¾ cup) oil
  • 1 cup mashed over-ripe bananas (I didn’t measure. I just used 4 normal sized bananas)
  • 100g chopped walnuts
  • ¼ cup brown sugar (for topping)
  • 35g (¼ cup) plain flour (for topping)
  • 40g butter, chopped (for topping)

1. Make the topping – combine sugar and flour in a bowl and rub in butter. Stir in about 1/3 of the chopped walnuts.

2. Grease or line 16 muffin pans and preheat oven to 200°C.

3. Sift flours and baking soda into bowl, stir in sugar, then combined eggs, milk, oil, bananas and walnuts; do not over-mix, batter should be lumpy.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

4. Sprinkle muffins with topping.

5. Bake for about 20 minutes or until browned and firm. Stand 2 minutes, remove from pan; cool on wire rack.

Makes 24 muffins

Leave a Reply

