Almond Pistachio Shortbread

I decided to make some shortbread as a mothers’ day gift ’cause it’s my mother’s favourite! I think it is a success HEHEHE. Okay there’s room for improvement but I fell in love with my own shortbread. It’s a little heavy though. Like after I’ve eaten a piece, I can feel a “floury” or “lumpy” feeling in my chest, like I’ve just downed 2 bottles of flour. Anybody knows why?

Recipe: (Adapted from The Australian Women’s Weekly: Cupcake & Cookies)

  • 40g shelled pistachios, roasted (I’m not sure if I must slightly roast the pistachios again. I used NTUC’s california pistachios and they turned out to be soft and not crunchy)
  • 125g butter
  • Around 1/4 cup (80g) icing sugar (Can adjust according to personal preferences. Original recipe calls for 1/2 cup)
  • 3/4 cups (112.5g) plain flour
  • 1 tablespoon cornflour
  • 1 tablespoon rice flour
  • 45g almond meal

1. Preheat oven to 150°c/130°c fan-forced. Line oven trays with baking paper.

2. Chop up the butter and place it in a bowl.

3. Coarsely chop the pistachios.

4. Beat butter and icing sugar in small bowl until light and fluffy. Stir in sifted flours (I sifted it twice – don’t know if it will help improve the texture or not haha), almond meal and chopped pistachios.

5. Grab around a fishball size of dough and shape it. Place onto tray, allowing around 3 cm between each piece.

6. Bake around 25 minutes or until firm; stand for 5 minutes before transferring to wire rack to cool.

Serves around 35 pieces

Leave a Reply

