Scones

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So after making some terrible failure scones, I decided to rescue scones out of Failed Files. Equipped with another recipe and common sense, I set off to make some decent scones and I am pleased with the results.

After following this new recipe, I realised that the problem of the failed scones lies with the recipe. The recipe called for too few butter and too much liquid. I am disappointed, Women’s Weekly. BUT maybe I misread the recipe.

Scones

Anyway, I’m very satisfied with this recipe. The scones were flaky, buttery and sconey. They’ll taste perfect with cream, jam and a pot of tea.

I wanted to add in some chocolate chips but they expired so I dropped in a scoop of almond slivers instead. I guess you can pretty much add anything you like for this recipe – chocolate chips, dried berries (fresh berries taste horrible when baked), ginger, nuts etc.

I’ll give this lemonade scone recipe from baking with gab a try next time! Sounds really unique!

Scones

Recipe: (Adapted from Pinch My Salt)

  • 2 cups plain flour
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 & 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 120g cold unsalted butter ( I used salted butter and ommited the 1/2 tsp of salt)
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk (Make your own buttermilk! Mix plain yoghurt with milk in the ratio of 3:1)
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/3 cup dried cranberries (or anything you want to add)
  • Heavy cream (optional, for brushing tops of scones ; I used milk)

1. Cut the butter into small cubes and place in fridge.

2. Preheat oven to 220◦c. Line/grease baking tray.

3. In a medium bowl, sift together flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Add sugar and mix well.

4. Rub in butter with fingertips. (I grated the butter in. Works as well) Place bowl in the fridge

5. Whisk together egg and buttermilk in another bowl. Place in fridge.

6. Add cranberries into the flour-butter bowl and mix well.

7. Add buttermilk mixture all at once to flour mixture and stir until the mixture clumps together.

8. Place mixture onto lightly floured counter top and gather into a ball. Pat into a circle about 2cm thick. Cut with a cookie cutter or knife into desired shapes.

9. Place scones on baking tray just touching each other and brush with heavy cream.

10. Cook for 13-15 minutes.

Makes about 30 small pieces

11 thoughts on “Scones

  1. Heyyy haven’t been here for quite some time. Congrats for rescuing scones out of Failed Files! I want to taste them someday! ^^

  2. Pingback: Failed Bakes: Scones | noobiebakes

Leave a Reply

