Ban Mian 板面

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I read an article about ikan bilis (anchovy) powder on noobcook so I decided to make some. It was quite tedious ’cause the blender I had wasn’t really meant for turning dried stuff into powder form. But after a grueling afernoon trying to squeeze powder out of my ikan bilis, I was left with a container of home-made “msg” and no use for it lol. My mother suggested making our own ban mian.

It was a great idea since I’m sick of eating ban mian, laden with msg sold, outside. Ban mian is great, but the thirsty feeling  I get after eating it is not.

Anyway, my mother bought this sakura ban mian from ntuc and off we went cooking up a storm (ok not really haha) in the kitchen. Home-made ban mian is really simple to make! Especially with the ikan bilis powder. It’s like cooking instant noodles and replacing the packet of msg with ikan bilis powder, the noodles with ban mian and adding in some minced pork!

The soup was so flavourful that I forgot it is cooked using only ikan bilis powder and I can finish the whole bowl without feeling thirsty!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Recipe:

  • 250ml water
  • Ban mian (can be bought from supermarket)
  • Chye sim
  • Minced pork
  • Egg
  • Ikan bilis powder (recipe here)
  • Soy sauce
  • Corn flour/sweet potato flour
  • Salt
  • White pepper powder

1. Marinate the minced pork with some soy sauce and corn/sweet potato flour.

2. Boil the water and add in around 1 teaspoon of ikan bilis powder. (Adjust according to personal preferences)

3. Add in the stalks of chye sim followed by the marinated minced pork when the water comes back to a boil.

4. Add in the ban mian and the remaining chye sim. Let it cook for around 2 minutes.

5. Add pepper and salt to taste. Finally, crack in an egg and serve.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Makes a bowl.

I am so happy I found a use for that pack of sweet potato flour! The packet says it can be used to coat food for deep frying and I never heard anyone adding sweet potato flour to make the meat tender. My mother accidentally used sweet potato flour to marinate the pork and the texture of the pork came out fine so I guess it can be used this way too!

Leave a Reply

